Inspiring Excellence

Legislative Information

WA State Capital Building

United States Senate
District 1 Legislators
U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell

U.S. Senator Patty Murray

United States House of Representatives

District 1 Legislator
U.S. Representative Suzan DelBene 

Washington State Legislature 
Lake Stevens (District 44) is served by the following Legislators:
The Washington State Legislature is a bicameral body with 49 members in the Senate and 98 members in the House of Representatives. Each district is served by one Senator and two House members. 

The citizen Legislature meets annually on the second Monday in January in the Capitol building in Olympia. In odd-numbered years—the budget year—the Legislature meets for 105 days, and in even-numbered years for 60 days. If necessary, the Governor can call legislators in for a special session for a 30-day period. Legislators can call themselves into special session with a two-thirds vote of the two bodies.

Members of the Senate are elected to four-year terms, and House members are elected to two-year terms.